Salt & Pilpel

Connecting Jewish Americans and Israelis in North NJ

I sound just like my mother/Yael Chamay November 3, 2010

Filed under: Yael's corner — foundintranslation18 @ 4:14 pm
Tags: , , ,

 

I was in the middle of giving my daughter a lecture of why she needs to be a good student in school and why completing homework is so important, when it suddenly hit me ……. I sound just like my mother.

All of a sudden all my childhood memories stormed back. It was just yesterday that my mom came from a parent / teacher conference and I was being punished for a week.

  • I could not talk on the phone ( Mobil phones not invented  yet)
  • Cannot go to the street and play with my friends ( comparable to going downtown nowadays )
  • My cassette player was taken away (equivalent today as “ IPod”)
  • No TV ( No MTV )
  • No sleep over with friends  (OMG)

Back to the present day, my focus shifted completely, I need to call my mom and ask for forgiveness, I truly made her suffer in my teenage years.  I had (and still have) a very close relationship with my mom but I did tons of crazy stuff that drove her to the edge.

She always told me: Yael whatever you do now you will pay for later ……“KARMA”.

I don’t want to pay! I don’t want to go through that! Is KARMA knocking???

My oldest kid will have his driving test soon, so now every time I drive him anywhere I am being analyzed for my driving skills

  • Mom , you need to actually stop at the sign
  • Mom, you didn’t look both ways
  • Mom, are you in a rush?
  • Mom, you are too far from the sidewalk, park the car closer
  • Mom, the other car is too close , keep your distance

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!

Dear Mom

Sorry for driving you crazy when I was a teenager.

I could list all the stuff I did (but then I will run out of paper).

I am sure Karma is in my house, living in every room & sleeping within my children. Can I please ask for the recipe to get rid of it?

 

 

 

8 Responses to “I sound just like my mother/Yael Chamay”

  1. aviva Says:

    dear all
    Humor is the bedrock of healthy relationship. Humor it a tool we can use to let off steam when things get too heavy. If we cannot laugh at ourselves, life will become a tedious and stifling experience. Family life is difficult, there is no doubt about it. In order to stick with family through hard times it is important to be able to laugh at ourselves. Laughing helps get through arguments, sadness and all kinds of hardships. Take the time to poke fun at yourselves and you will feel the burden on your shoulders lighten considerably. so thanks yael for let us have fun with you,and keep going with the karma

  2. Admirable, how you can put it in words.
    Keep at it, Yael,
    Looking forward to your next experience.

  3. Mery Says:

    Karma, every body has it, no body wants it…..
    Well I can say your story made me laugh and at the same time I thought about my own karma, and as you said your mom told you ” you will Pay for it later” well I’m also paying but with a very high intrest rate. And you know what, after your story I see it in a more funny way, so I decided I will start to try to enjoy my karma all the way.
    Thanks for sharing your story, let’s see whats the next one.

  4. liora Says:

    As far as your writing skills, there are probably no more words to be added to what was said already. Amazing, incredible, fun, funny… My addition will be addicting. I just love it!
    As far as the karma – well… So true! What goes around comes around, right?
    As I see my kids as my little (well, big now) mirror, I see me, I hear me and it can be scary in times. But the truth is, it’s somehow amusing to go back to those days when we thought we knew everything better than our parents or than any “experienced” person.
    Now that we ARE the “experienced” ones, it’s our turn to enjoy this experience and never forget to remind our kids that “one day” you will be a parent and ….:-))))

  5. Shiri Says:

    As always- I love it.
    We do sound like our parents- our mothers most of the time and I’m sure are kids will sound like us.
    Keep writing, you make me laugh every time I read your stories and waiting for the next one.

  6. liora Says:

    As far as your writing skills, there are probably no more words to be added to what was said already. Amazing, incredible, fun, funny… My addition will be addicting. I just love it! As far as the karma – well… So true! What goes around comes around, right? As I see my kids as my little (well, big now) mirror, I see me, I hear me and it can be scary in times. But the truth is, it’s somehow amusing to go back to those days when we thought we knew everything better than our parents or than any “experienced” person. Now that we ARE the “experienced” ones, it’s our turn to enjoy this experience and never forget to remind our kids that “one day” you will be a parent and ….:-))))

  7. Ronit Says:

    Dear Yael:
    Karma: so far i am ok with it….. if it will come to hunt me later on with my same experiences OMG i will then be punished…. and you more than anyone know what i mean.
    so…. while i dont have anything bad to say about karma now I will enjoy the rest of my experiences not looking forward for the moment i will face my karma… i will try to keep your advice and laugh as life goes on.

  8. Cecilia Says:

    Yael, I was laughing like crazy is really nice how you nica put your experience in words and still be funny 🙂

    I lovedd the part about your older son and the dricing JAJAJAJAJA
    I know my Karma is coming pretty soon and I hope to see it this way.

    Nice Blog and keep telling us your stories.


Leave a Reply

